This is the "Home" page of the "AP World Final Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AP World Final Project  

You will prepare and present a powerpoint presentation tracing change over time of a broad topic or geographic region
Last Updated: Jan 3, 2017 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/APWorldFinal Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
100 Events That Shook Our World - Life Magazine Editors (Created by)
Call Number: 909.8 LIF
ISBN: 1932994106
Publication Date: 2005-09-20
There has never been another period of time to compare with the last 100 years. From the Auto Age to the Computer Age, from Lucky Lindy to a man walking on the moon, our world has been an endless wellspring of unparalleled drama.

Cover Art
1001 Inventions - National Geographic Editors; Salim T. S. Al-Hassani (Editor)
Call Number: 609 ONE
ISBN: 9781426209345
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization takes readers on a journey through years of forgotten Islamic history to discover one thousand fascinating scientific and technological inventions still being used throughout the world today.

Cover Art
The Industrial Revolution - Peter N. Stearns (Editor); John H. Hinshaw (Editor)
Call Number: REF 359.7 STE
ISBN: 0874368243
Publication Date: 1996-07-01
Covers the many facets of the Industrial Revolution around the world, including bureaucracy, child labor, and work ethics.

Cover Art
Afghanistan - John Boaz (Editor)
Call Number: 958.104 AFG
ISBN: 073771722X
Publication Date: 2003-08-22
From the time of the Soviet invasion right up to the current War on Terror, Afghanistan has been a nation in turmoil. Afghanistan's role in harboring Al Qaeda, the pitfalls of nation-building, and the effect of Afghanistan's instability on the rest of central Asia are discussed I this compelling anthology.

Cover Art
The Age of Anxiety - Haynes Johnson
Call Number: BIO MCC
ISBN: 0151010625
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
Johnson tells this monumental story through the lens of its relevance to our own time, when fear again affects American behavior and attitudes, for he believes now, as then, that our civil liberties, our Constitution, and our nation are at stake as we confront the ever more difficult task of balancing the need for national security with that of personal liberty.

Cover Art
Among the Dead Cities - A. C. Grayling
Call Number: 940.54 GRA
ISBN: 0802714714
Publication Date: 2006-03-07
In Among the Dead Cities, the acclaimed philosopher A. C. Grayling asks the provocative question, how would the Allies have fared if judged by the standards of the Nuremberg Trials? Arguing persuasively that the victor nations have never had to consider the morality of their policies during World War II, he offers a powerful, moral re-examination of the Allied bombing campaigns against civilians in Germany and Japan, in the light of principles enshrined in the post-war conventions on human rights and the laws of war.

Cover Art
Art That Changed the World - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 709 ART
ISBN: 1465414355
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
Art That Changed the World tells the story of every major art style, movement by movement, giving art lovers a visual timeline showing key paintings that sparked each transition and explaining major events that shaped their evolution. Each section features a lavish double-page image of an influential painting that defines each artistic style. Seminal works of genius are portrayed in their historical context, with attention paid to the culture of the time and the lives of their creators.

Cover Art
The Ascent of Money - Niall Ferguson
Call Number: 332.4 FER
ISBN: 0143116177
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
A richly original look at the origins of money and how it makes the world go 'round Niall Ferguson follows the money to tell the human story behind the evolution of our financial system, from its genesis in ancient Mesopotamia to the latest upheavals on what he calls Planet Finance. What's more, Ferguson reveals financial history as the essential back story behind all history, arguing that the evolution of credit and debt was as important as any technological innovation in the rise of civilization.

Cover Art
The Battle for History - John Keegan
Call Number: 940.53/072 KEE
ISBN: 0679767436
Publication Date: 1996-01-30
With the same erudition, discernment, and crisp prose that made his A History of Warfare an international bestseller, Keegan surveys the literature of World War II, identifying the works he finds most important and illuminating while examining the sometimes savage controversies raised by two generations of the war's historians.

Cover Art
Better for All the World - Harry Bruinius
Call Number: 363.9209 7 BRU
ISBN: 0375413715
Publication Date: 2006-02-21
In Better for All the World,Harry Bruinius charts the little-known history of eugenics in America—a movement that began in the early twentieth century and resulted in the forced sterilization of more than 65,000 Americans.

Cover Art
The Birth of Plenty - William Bernstein
Call Number: 339.2 BER
ISBN: 0071421920
Publication Date: 2004-03-23
Why didn't the Florentines invent the steam engines and flying machines that Da Vinci sketched? What kept the master metallurgists of ancient Rome from discovering electricity? The Birth of Plenty takes a fascinating new look at the key conditions that had to be in place before world economic growth--and the technological progress underlying it--could occur, why those pathways are still absent in many parts of today's world, and what must be done before true, universal prosperity can become a reality.

Cover Art
Bomb - Steve Sheinkin
Call Number: 623.4 SHE
ISBN: 1596434872
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
In December of 1938, a chemist in a German laboratory made a shocking discovery: When placed next to radioactive material, a Uranium atom split in two. That simple discovery launched a scientific race that spanned 3 continents. In Great Britain and the United States, Soviet spies worked their way into the scientific community; in Norway, a commando force slipped behind enemy lines to attack German heavy-water manufacturing; and deep in the desert, one brilliant group of scientists was hidden away at a remote site at Los Alamos.

Cover Art
Central Europe - Lonnie R. Johnson
Call Number: 943 JOH
ISBN: 0195148266
Publication Date: 2001-08-16
This historical survey of Central Europe covers a region that encompasses contemporary Germany, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, and Croatia. Now in its second edition, Central Europe: Enemies, Neighbors, Friends contains a new epilogue-updated to cover events since 1995-and several redesigned or updated maps.

Cover Art
The Columbian Exchange - Alfred W. Crosby; Valerie N. Chang
Call Number: 614.4 CRO
ISBN: 0275980928
Publication Date: 2003-04-30
In 1972, Alfred Crosby published a small work that illuminated a simple point, that the most important changes brought on by the voyages of Columbus were not social or political, but biological in nature. The book told the story of how 1492 sparked the movement of organisms, both large and small, in both directions across the Atlantic.

Cover Art
The Detonators - Chad Millman
Call Number: 940.4874 3 MIL
ISBN: 0316734969
Publication Date: 2006-07-12
Twenty years after blowing up Black Tom Island in the New York Harbor, the German government had still evaded responsibility for the crime. Three lawyers made it their mission to solve a mystery that began during the first World War and barely ended before the second.

Cover Art
Diaries of an Unfinished Revolution - Matthew Cassel (Editor, Preface by); Layla Al-Zubaidi (Editor, Preface by); Robin Moger (Translator); Georgina Collins (Translator); Samar Yazbek (Introduction by); Nemonie Craven Roderick (Editor, Preface by)
Call Number: 323.4 DIA
ISBN: 9780143125150
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
A winning collection of personal testimony from participants in the Arab Spring. As revolution swept through the Arab world in spring of 2011, much of the writing that reached the West came via analysts and academics, experts and expats.

Cover Art
Documenting World War I - Philip Steele
Call Number: 940.3 STE
ISBN: 9781435896734
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Few could imagine when World War I began in 1914, that it would last for four grueling years, leaving nearly forty million casualties in its wake. With such a large, all-encompassing conflict, typical focus is on countries and ideologies, but behind this event are individual people and motives. This book explores every aspect of World War I from the events leading up to the assassination of Archduke Ferdinand to the Treaty of Versailles and its aftermathall through fascinating primary source documents and a thrilling narration.

Cover Art
The Early 20th Century - Briony Ryles; Derek Hall
Call Number: 609 TEC
ISBN: 9781933834870
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This illuminating series breaks down the story of scientific discovery by historical epoch, from the earliest use of fire and the development of the wheel through space travel, modern computing, and the fiber-optic revolution. Relevant curriculum standards covered by each topic are highlighted in the sidebars throughout each title. This set probes the history of scientific discovery, putting each leap forward in its social and scientific context as well as explaining the science.

Primary Sources

Smithsonian Museums

The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Avalon Project

Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Internet History Sourcebook Project

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. 

World Digital Library

This resource has primary sources from all of world history. you can sort and search by region and date.

Eyewitness to History

First person accounts of various important moments in world history.

International Public Library

Includes various resources from a joint venture of many college libraries.

Websites for World History

List of links to the best world history websites, provided by the University of Delaware 

Infomine

A good site to use to search for scholarly journals on your topic. Many you cannot access on here, but you can then check JSTOR and search by title to see if they have the article you are looking for.

 

Content Outline

AP World History Final Project

You will prepare and present a PowerPoint presentation tracing changes over time on a broad topic or geographic region. You will be graded on the following requirements and criteria. Each student will complete a different topic. PowerPoints will be stored in the W: Drive>C Wing>Wert where your classmates may access and use your work to help study for the final exam as well as the exam in the spring.

TOPICS:

19th Century

  1. Compare the reaction of foreign domination in the Ottoman Empire, China, India, and Japan.
  2. Compare nationalism in (pick a. or b.)
    1. China and Japan AND Cuba and the Philippines
    2. China and Japan AND Egypt and Nigeria
  3. Compare forms of Western intervention in Latin America and in Africa
  4. Compare Latin American Independence Movements
  5. Patterns of Immigration, 19th century

20th Century

  1. Compare patterns and results of decolonization in Africa and India
  2. Compare the Russian, Chinese, and Mexican Revolutions of the early 20th century.
  3. Compare the legacies of colonialism and patterns of economic development in two of the three areas (Africa, Asia, and Latin America).
  4. Compare causes and effects of World War I and World War II.
  5. Patterns of Immigration, 20th century

19th & 20th Centuries

  1. Social and Religious (Change Over Time)
  2. Technological (Change Over Time)
  3. Environmental (Change Over Time)
  4. Traditional Warfare vs. Guerilla Warfare (Comparative)
  5. Growth of International Organizations (League of Nations, United Nations…)
  6. Rise of Nationalism and Nation-States
  7. Socialism / Communism
  8. Growth of Democracy (Change Over Time)
  9. Women’s Emancipation Movements
  10. Compare and explain the western dominance of the 19th century and the decline of western dominance in the 20th century (Change Over Time)
  11. Cold War (1945-1991)

 You will be graded on the following requirements and criteria.

CONTENT

 Time Period – 1800 to Present

Source of Information – You will exhaustively use your textbook, concentrating on chapters 23 to 33.  You may use other sources ONLY when you have done this.

Thesis – Typically presentations will begin with a clear definition of your topic and your thesis/argument, which will help the class to focus in on WHY your topic is important.

Content this, you must refer to the AP World History Course Book, periods 5 and 6, to ascertain what content is required.  You must cover key concepts and themes, as well as utilize the four historical thinking skills in your presentation.  However, remember to make “world history” connections.  Each topic will have varying requirements – see the instructor.

Change Over Time / Comparative Analysis

 

VISUAL (power point, Google doc, Prezi, etc)

Minimum 10 Slides – Each slide will have a headlined-main point, as well as several bullets, and a captioned visual.

Captioned visual or map on each slide – These will all be primary sources that will help communicate your main points.

3 Primary Sources – Explicitly use and cite at least 3 primary sources—that is, quotations verbal to help class understand important aspects of your topic.

Title slide and Bibliography slide

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mr. Rothenberger

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt
 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip