This is the "Home" page of the "9th grade Body Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

9th grade Body Systems  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2016 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/bodysystems Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CWLMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Gulp - Mary Roach
Call Number: 612.3 ROA
ISBN: 0393081575
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
"America's funniest science writer" (Washington Post) takes us down the hatch on an unforgettable tour. Why is crunchy food so appealing? Why is it so hard to find words for flavors and smells? Why doesn't the stomach digest itself? How much can you eat before your stomach bursts? Can constipation kill you? Did it kill Elvis? In Gulp we meet scientists who tackle the questions no one else thinks of--or has the courage to ask.

Cover Art
A Zombie's Guide to the Human Body - Mercer Mayer; Jim Becker; Tom Becker; Scholastic Canada Ltd. Staff
Call Number: 611 ZOM
ISBN: 9780545249799
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Who knows more about the human body than a zombie? All of the critical information kids need to know about the human body, with a zombie twist! From head-to-toe, every human body part will be explored and explained with a combination of illustrated zombies and full-color photographs throughout.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Health - Visual Education Corporation Staff
Call Number: REF 610.3 MAC
ISBN: 002897431X
Publication Date: 1993-03-01

Cover Art
The Human Brain Book - Martyn Page; Rita Carter
Call Number: REF 612.8 CAR
ISBN: 9780756654412
Publication Date: 2009-08-31
The Human Brain Book is a complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals. It combines the latest findings from the field of neuroscience with expert text and state-of-the-art illustrations and imaging techniques to provide an incomparable insight into every facet of the brain.

Cover Art
The Immune System - Edward Edelson
Call Number: 616.079 EDE
ISBN: 0791000214
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
-- A complete overview of the health issues that are of vital concern to the public -- Presents up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, from basic anatomy and physiology to ethical and legal issues -- Written chiefly by leading medical and science journalists

Cover Art
Blood - Kara Rogers (Editor)
Call Number: REF 612.1
ISBN: 9781615301218
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Although its ubiquity in the human body may make it seem unremarkable, simply put, blood makes life possible. It nourishes cells throughout the body and transports carbon dioxide to the lungs. Without it, the body would be unable to fight disease and infection or function at all. Readers are invited to follow the course of this extraordinary fluid as it circulates through the body and learn about its component parts. Detailed diagrams supplement the text and allow readers a glimpse into the anatomy and life-sustaining properties of human blood.

Cover Art
Disease - Mary Dobson
Call Number: 610.3 DOB
ISBN: 9781847240149
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Essays on 50 key diseases, plagues and epidemics function both as self contained mini histories of individual diseases and as part of a larger narrative chronicling the history of medicine. Includes timelines, boxed features on significant medical breakthroughs, fascinating case histories, anecdotes and medical curiosities. Contains 150 color photographs.

Cover Art
Celiac Disease - Greenhaven Press Editors
Call Number: 616.3 CEL
ISBN: 9780737757729
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
The ailments and conditions that afflict people today can be confusing, disturbing, and painful-both emotionally and physically. The Perspectives on Diseases and Disorders series provides clear, careful explanations that offer readers and researchers insight into what these conditions are, what causes them, how people live with them, and the latest about treatment and prevention. All volumes in the series include primary and secondary viewpoints, bibliographies, detailed indexes, and lists of organizations to contact for additional information. Book jacket.

Cover Art
AIDS - Katherine MacFarlane (Editor)
Call Number: 616.97 AID
ISBN: 9780737738681
Publication Date: 2007-12-14

Cover Art
Diseases and Disorders - SARS - Robert Green
Call Number: 616.2 STE
ISBN: 1590185293
Publication Date: 2004-02-20
From its beginnings in China's Guangdong Province, SARS became a worldwide epidemic before anyone knew it. The book discusses the disease's symptoms and rapid infection rate, the coverup by the Chinese government, and the quick work by health care workers and researchers from many nations to learn more about it.

Cover Art
Multiple Sclerosis - Melissa Abramovitz
Call Number: 616.8 ABR
ISBN: 9781420502879
Publication Date: 2010-08-05
The Diseases & Disorders series offers young readers and researchers a means of understanding ailments and their ramifications. Clear, careful explanations offer insight into what these conditions are, what causes them, how people live with them, and the latest information about treatment and prevention. All volumes include primary and secondary source quotations, annotated bibliographies and lists of organizations to contact for additional information.

Instagrok

Research any topic with an interactive concept map, that you can customize and share

      

    Skeletal System

    1.  What is the role of the skeletal system in maintaining homeostasis?

     

    2. Name the five jobs that bones are responsible for doing. (5)

     


    3. What two materials make up bones? (2)

     

     

    4. How long does it take bones to fully grow? (1)

     

    5. Define Ooteoporosis.  List two ways to reduce your risk of developing osteoporosis. (3)

     



     

    Muscular System

    1.  What is the role of the muscular system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2.  List the three types of muscles and how they move. (6)

    3. What two muscles are reponsible for bending the knee? (2)

    4. Identify the following muscles:

       a. Hardest-working

       b. Largest

       c. Strongest for size

    The Nervous System

    1. What is the role of the nervous system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2. Identify the two organs that make up the central nervous system (CNS). (1)

    3.  Describe the main function of the CNS. (1)

    4.  Describe the main function of the peripheral nervous system (PNS). (1)

    5.  Describe the job/duties of the following parts of the brain: (5)

       a. Cortex

       b. Cerebellum

       c. Midbrain

       D. Brain Stem

       E. Frontal Lobe

    The Digestive System

    1.  What is the role of the digestive system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2.  Name the three main processes that take place during digestion AND brifely describe the function of each. (6)

       Process                                             Function

    a.                                                          a.

    b.                                                           b.

    c.                                                            c.

    3. What protects the lining of the stomach? (1)

    4. Name five things that can cause indigestion. (5)

    5.  List three ways to prevent indigestion. (3)

    The Cardiovascular System

    What is the role of the cardiovascular system in maintaining homeostasis?

    Right Atrium - Hemoglobin - Arteries - Veins - Platelets

    Use the words above to answer the following four questions.

    1.  Carries oxygen-rich blood to organs and muscles. (1)

    2.  When exposed to oxygen this iron-containing protein in blood turns red. (1)

    3. Brings oxygen starved blood back to the heart. (1)

    4. The heart's natural pace maker. (1)

    5.  These form a net to create a blood clot, plugs a wound so it can heal. (1)

    The Urinary System

    1. What is the role of the urinary system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2. Define nephrons. (1)

    3.  Define ureters. (1)

    4.  What is the task of the urinary system? (1)

    5.  Identify the gland in the brain that is responsible for protecting against dehydration. (1)

    The Respiratory System

    1. What is the role of the respiratory system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2. Identify the body part that is also called the windpipe. (1)

    3.  Which structure of the lungs does the trachea branch into? (1)

    4.  Identify the muscle that allows breathing to occur. (1)

    5.  Mucous membranes in the nasal passageways have tiny-hair like structures called what? (1)

    6.  Explain what occurs when someone breathes. (2)

    The Immune System

    1. What is the role of the immune system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2. The lymphatic system carries around what fluid? (1)

    3.  Describe how lymph nodes and white blood cells help fight disease. (2)

    4.  Where are T-cells produced? (1)

    5.  List three jobs of the spleen.  (3)

    The Hormonal (Endocrine) System

    1. What is the role of the endocrine system in maintaining homeostasis?

    2. Hormones play a role in what three body functions? (3)

    3.  Name the "male" and "female" hormones. (2)

    4.  What does thyroxine do? (1)

    Web Resources

    This section includes links to dictionaries, illustrations of body systems, and more short videos.

     

    Assignment

    Body System Project

    Group Members:

    Body System:

     

    Directions:  Using the Pathfinder sources (Teen Health & Wellness and InstaGrok) document needed information about your body system.  Your group will take this information and create a PowerPoint presentation that you will present to class.  The attached rubrics will outline what you need to do. 

     

    1. Explain the main function(s) of the system.

       

       

       

       

    2. Identify AND explain the major organs/parts included in this system (this may include system specific vocabulary!)  Include a diagram!

       

       

       

       

    3. What are some interesting facts about your system?

       

       

       

    4. Identify AND explain a minimum of two diseases/disorders that can impacted this body system.  Also, include ways to reduce the risk of the each disease/treatment options for each disease.

       

       

       

       

       

    5. How do you keep this body system healthy?

     

     

    Each person in your group should have responsibility for this information.  Use the note-taking sheets provided by Miss Showalter to help you organize the information needed to completely answer each question.

     

     

    Once you have completed the worksheet, see Miss Showalter for approval before creating your PowerPoint.  After approval, follow the guidelines below and also look at the rubric for additional requirements.

    PowerPoint Presentations

    • Follow the order shown below.

    • Maximum of 10 slides, must include some graphics that are relevant to your system

    Slide One:  Title and group members

    Slide Two – Ten:

    1. Main Functions

    2. Major Organs/Parts

    3. Interesting Facts

    4. Two Diseases and risk reduction strategies/treatment strategies

    5. How to keep this system healthy

    Final Slide:  Sources

     

     

    Project Rubric

    Oral Presentation

    Category

    4

    3

    2

    1

    Points Earned

    Preparedness

    Students are completely prepared and have obviously rehearsed.  All members have a speaking part.

    Students seem pretty prepared but might have needed a couple more rehearsals.  One member does not have a speaking part.

    The students are somewhat prepared, but it is clear that rehearsal was lacking. One-two members do not have a speaking part.

    Students do not seem at all prepared to present.  One or two members speak for the whole group.

     

    Speaks Clearly

    Speaks clearly and distinctly all (100-95%) of the time, and mispronounces no words.

    Speaks clearly and distinctly all (100-95%) of the time, but mispronounces one word.

    Speaks clearly and distinctly most (94-85%) of the time.  Mispronounces no more than one word.

    Often mumbles or cannot be understood OR mispronounces more than one word.

     

    Enthusiasm

    Facial expressions and body language generate a strong interest and enthusiasm about the topic in others.

    Facial expressions and body language sometimes generate a strong interest and enthusiasm about the topic in others.

    Facial expressions and body language are used to try to generate enthusiasm, but seem somewhat faked.

    Very little use of facial expressions or body language.  Did not generate much interest in the topic being presented.

     

    Posture and Eye Contact

    Stands up straight, looks relaxed and confident.  Establishes eye contact with everyone in the room during the presentation.

    Stands up straight and establishes eye contact with everyone in the room during the presentation.

    Sometimes stands up straight and establishes eye contact.

    Slouches and/or does not look at people during the presentation.

     

    Volume

    Volume is loud enough to be heard by all audience members throughout the presentation.

    Volume is loud enough to be heard by all audience members at least 90% of the time.

    Volume is loud enough to be heard by all audience members at least 80% of the time.

    Volume often too soft to be heard by all audience members.

     

     

                                                                                                                Total Score:            _____

    Body System PowerPoint Rubric

     

    Category

    10

    8

    7

    6

    Points Earned

    Content-Accuracy

    All content throughout the presentation is accurate.  There are no factual errors

    Most of the content is accurate but there is one piece of information that might be inaccurate.

    The content is generally accurate, but some pieces of information are clearly flawed or inaccurate.

    Content is confusing or contains more than two factual errors.

     

    Content-Requirements

    All content requirements are met and exceeded. 

    All content requirements are met. 

    One content requirement was not fully met.

    More than one content requirement was not completely met. 

     

    Effectiveness and Sequencing

    Project includes all material needed to gain a comfortable understanding and is organized in a clear, logical sequence.

    Project includes most material needed to gain a comfortable understanding and most information is organized in a clear, logical sequence.

    Project is missing more than two key elements and some information is logically sequenced.

    Project is lacking several key elements, has inaccuracies, and lacks a logical sequence.

     

    Category

    4

    3

    2

    1

     

    Attractiveness/Use of Graphics

    The presentation and graphics are attractive and supports the content.

    Parts of the presentation or graphics are not attractive but still support the content.

    The presentation and graphics are attractive but some parts do not support the content.

    Some of the presentation or graphics are unattractive and do not support the content.

     

    Grammar/Spelling

    There are no grammatical or spelling mistakes.

    There is 1 grammatical/spelling mistake.

    There are 2 grammatical/spelling mistakes.

    There are more than 2 grammatical/spelling mistakes.

     

    Mechanics

    Capitalization and punctuation are correct.

    There is 1 error in capitalization or punctuation.

    There are 2 errors in capitalization or punctuation.

    There are more than 2 errors in capitalization or punctuation.

     

                                                                                                                       Total Score:      _____

     

        

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Ann Schmidt

      Subject Guide

      Kristin Brumbach

      Conrad Weiser LMC site

       

      Safari Montage

      Click here for videos

      Use your CW login and password

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip