This is the "Home" page of the "American Colonies - Ciem" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Colonies - Ciem  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2016 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/coloniesciem Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Virginia - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054169
Publication Date: 2005-04-01

Cover Art
Jamestown 1607 - Michael L. Cooper
Call Number: 973.21 COO
ISBN: 9780823419487
Publication Date: 2007-03-01

Cover Art
John Smith - Tim McNeese
ISBN: 9781604137422
Publication Date: 2010-11-01

Cover Art
The Mayflower Papers - William Bradford; Mary Rowlandson; Benjamin Church; Nathaniel Philbrick (Contribution by); Thomas Philbrick (Contribution by)
Call Number: 974.02 BRA
ISBN: 9780143104988
Publication Date: 2007-04-24

Cover Art
New Hampshire - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054118
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
New York - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 081605410X
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
Massachusetts - Roberta Wiener; James R. Arnold; Wiener
Call Number: 974.402 WIE
ISBN: 1410903052
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
Massachusetts - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 081605407X
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
Maryland - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054185
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Cover Art
Connecticut - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054177
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Cover Art
Connecticut - Christina M. Girod
Call Number: 974.6 THI
ISBN: 1560068922
Publication Date: 2001-07-01

Cover Art
New Jersey - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054088
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
North Carolina - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054126
Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Cover Art
South Carolina - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054096
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
Pennsylvania - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054134
Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Cover Art
Georgia - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054193
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Cover Art
Georgia, 1521-1776 - Robin Santos Doak; Robert Olwell (As told to)
Call Number: 974.6 VOI
ISBN: 9780792263890
Publication Date: 2006-04-11

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Colonies Poll

How well did your colony research go today?




 

Content Outline

Colonies Brochure Project


It will be your job to create a brochure convicing people to move to your assigned colony. In the brochure, you should include:

- a map of where your colony is located
- a description of the religion practiced in the area
- some details on industry, merchants, farming, agriculture (crops), local games, dress, relations with Natives, etc. 

It also might be interesting to include local information such as when the colony was formed, by whom, and for what reasons. This brochure should be written persuasively and in a salesman-like manner. Remember, you are trying to convince people to move to your particular colony!

25 points

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mr. Rothenberger

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip