This is the "Home" page of the "Foodborne Illness: Common Pathogens" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foodborne Illness: Common Pathogens  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2016 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/foodborne Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CWLMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Food Alert! - Morton Satin
Call Number: 615.954 SAT
ISBN: 0816039364
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
The 20 most common causes of food contamination in your kitchen.

Cover Art
Food-Borne Illnesses - Andrea C. Nakaya
Call Number: 615.9 NAK
ISBN: 9781601521538
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Every year in the United States, food-borne illnesses cause an estimated 325,000 hospitalizations and 5,000 deaths. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines food-borne illnesses.

Cover Art
Food Regulation and Safety - Laurie Hillstrom (Editor)
Call Number: 363.19 HIL
ISBN: 9781420507218
Publication Date: 2012-06-29
This book discusses food regulation and safety in the United States, describing the history of U.S. food safety, the updating of rules for food safety, outbreaks of illness from contaminated food sources, and debates over genetically modified crops

Cover Art
It Was Probably Something You Ate - Nicols Fox
Call Number: 615.954 FOX
ISBN: 0140277994
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
A practical guide to avoiding and surviving foodborne illness.

Cover Art
Poisons in Your Food - Ruth Winter
Call Number: 641.31 WIN
ISBN: 0517576813
Publication Date: 1990-12-08

Cover Art
Poisons and Toxins - Marc Kusinitz
Call Number: REF 616.92 KUS
ISBN: 0791000745
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Examines the various types of poisons and toxins, their sources, and their effect on the human body.

Cover Art
Spoiled - Nicols Fox
Call Number: 615.954 FOX
ISBN: 0465019803
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
The dangerous truth about a food chain gone haywire.

Cover Art
Six Modern Plagues - Mark Jerome Walters
Call Number: 614.4 WAL
ISBN: 155963992X
Publication Date: 2003-09-10
Explores the connections between human degradation of the natural environment and the increase in modern epidemics, telling the stories of the spread of mad cow disease, HIV/AIDS, a new strain of salmonella bacterium, Lyme disease, hantavirus, and West Nile encephalitis.

Cover Art
Biohazards - Sean M. Grady; John Tabak
Call Number: 614.599 GRA
ISBN: 0816046875
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Looks at the history of how powerful microscopic invaders have plagued the human race and how humans have responded to these attacks, and examines the recent resurgence of diseases such as tuberculosis and staphylococcus.

Cover Art
Outbreak - Mark P. Friedlander
Call Number: 614.4 FRI
ISBN: 9780822509486
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Describes the field of epidemiology and its history, presenting historical and modern case studies and biological explanations of some diseases and a discussion of the microbes most likely to be used by bioterrorists.

Cover Art
Foodborne Diseases - Dean O. Cliver (Editor)
Call Number: 615.9 CLI
ISBN: 012176558X
Publication Date: 1990-08-28

 

All Projects should include the following:

 Information:

  • This project will be worth 125 total points.

  • Rubric for project is on the backside of this page.

  • Work with your assigned partner to complete this poster.

Expectations:

  • Complete an infographic regarding assigned organism.

  • The infographic should have these areas addressed:

    • Your name(s) on infographic (In the lower right hand corner)

    • Name of Organism

    • Common name of illness

    • Location of Organism

    • Signs and Symptoms

    • Common Food Sources ( Causes)

    • Preventative measures that can be taken

    • Treatments

    • Statistics

    • Graphics (relevant pictures)

       

  • If your group does not finish the poster it will become homework to have completed by class time on Friday! We are presenting these in class, no excuses for late work!

  • Once the research component is complete the infographic will be explained.

You are presenting these to the class. You are the teacher on each of these organisms.  You will be giving the class more information than just that on your infographic so be prepared. The class will be tested on these organisms so do not let them down.  You need to be present in school on Friday October 2nd

Infographic Rubric

 Student Name(s):

 

Pathogen Addressed:

 

Category

15

10 Points

0 Points

Topics Addressed

Includes all 9 required topics.

Includes 8-6 of the required topics.

Includes 5 or fewer of the required topics.

Content

Covers topic in-depth with details and examples. Subject knowledge is excellent.

Includes essential information about the topic but there are 1-2 factual errors.

Content is minimal OR there are several factual errors.

Graphics

All graphics are related to the topic and make it easier to understand.

Some graphics relate to the topic.

Graphics do not relate to the topic.

Attractiveness

Makes excellent use of font, color, graphics, effects, etc. to enhance the presentation.

Makes use of font, color, graphics, effects, etc. but occasionally these detract from the presentation content.

Use of font, color, graphics, effects etc. but these often distract from the presentation content.

Mechanics

0-3 misspellings and/or grammatical errors.

3-4 misspellings and/or grammatical errors.

Five or more spelling or grammar errors.

Presentation

Information clearly relates to the main topic. It includes several supporting details and/or examples.

Information clearly relates to the main topic. It provides 1-2 supporting details and/or examples.

Information clearly relates to the main topic. No details and/or examples are given.

Use of Time

Uses class time efficiently to complete this assignment.

 

Did not make efficient use of class time to complete this assignment.

Timeliness

Assignment was completed/turned in on time

 

Assignment was not completed/turned in on time

Name

(5 Points)

Student name is included on poster on lower right corner

 

Total Points: ________________/125

 

Comments/Feedback:

 


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

CWLMC Databases and other links

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip