This is the "Home" page of the "Anatomy & Physiology - Integumentary Disease" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anatomy & Physiology - Integumentary Disease  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/integdisease Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CWLMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Dr. Mütter's Marvels - Cristin O'Keefe Aptowicz
Call Number: BIO MUT
ISBN: 1592408702
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Imagine undergoing an operation without anesthesia performed by a surgeon who refuses to sterilize his tools--or even wash his hands. This was the world of medicine when Thomas Dent Mütter began his trailblazing career as a plastic surgeon in Philadelphia during the middle of the nineteenth century. Award-winning writer Cristin O'Keefe Aptowicz vividly chronicles how Mütter's efforts helped establish Philadelphia as a global mecca for medical innovation--despite intense resistance from his numerous rivals.

Cover Art
Disease - Mary Dobson
Call Number: 610.3 DOB
ISBN: 9781847240149
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Essays on 50 key diseases, plagues and epidemics function both as self contained mini histories of individual diseases and as part of a larger narrative chronicling the history of medicine. Includes timelines, boxed features on significant medical breakthroughs, fascinating case histories, anecdotes and medical curiosities. Contains 150 color photographs.

Cover Art
Infectious Diseases - Kara Rogers
Call Number: 616.9 INF
ISBN: 9781615303410
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Outbreaks of infectious disease pose some of the greatest public health risks to humans across the globe. Although an increasing number of preventative measures and cures are available against a number of these threats, many are still untreatable or have no remedy. However, the human response to these diseases has matured as increasing awareness and new scientific research emerges. This volume examines the many causes and effects of bacterial, viral, and other forms of disease, as well as the various steps taken over time to mitigate the damaging consequences of infection.

Cover Art
Melanoma Skin Cancer - American Cancer Society Staff
Call Number: 616.99 MEL
ISBN: 1604430389
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
This pocket-sized reference covers everything from the risk factors of melanoma skin cancer to the diagnosis procedure to living well after treatment. With greater public awareness, early detection of melanoma skin cancer is on the rise and mortality rates are declining; this medical guide emphasizes that all patients should be well-informed decision makers in planning their own treatment and is updated with the latest patient treatment guidelines. An advanced dictionary of cancer-related terms and a list of critical questions to ask health care administrators are also included.

Cover Art
Skin Cancer - Bonnie Juettner
Call Number: 616.99 JUE
ISBN: 9781590189313
Publication Date: 2007-12-10
Discusses the causes and types of skin cancer, how to diagnose and prevent the skin cancer, and the treatments available.

Cover Art
Skin Cancer - Tracie Egan
Call Number: 616.99 EGA
ISBN: 1404203907
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Filled with helpful information on this preventable form of cancer, the author explores how cells can becomecancerous and how skin cancer in particular develops. It covers the differences between non-melanomas and melanoma, the current statistics regarding fatality rates, and the frequency of occurrence of each type of skincancer. Using sidebars, clear captions, and full-colorphotos, this book covers current and emergingtreatment options, preventative measures, alternative treatments, and education.

Cover Art
Cancer - Joann Rodgers
Call Number: 616.994 ROD
ISBN: 0791000591
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
-- A complete overview of the health issues that are of vital concern to the public -- Presents up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, from basic anatomy and physiology to ethical and legal issues -- Written chiefly by leading medical and science journalists

Disease Foundations - Disease Basics and Wellness Information

These foundations exist to raise funds and advocate for research for their respective diseases and to provide information for patients, families and the general public.

 

Assignment

Integumentary Disease:  50 pts.

Your task will be to produce a thorough presentation on one human integumentary disease/ disorder.  The report may take one of several forms.  You may produce a traditional written report, a PowerPoint presentation, a website, poster board, or other media (please get approval from Ms. Schade).  The final form of presentation you choose will need to include all the elements listed in this rubric. 

In brief, the following elements are necessary for a complete presentation:

  1. An introduction to the disease which will include a short statement on each of the following topics: (20 pts.)
    1. The nature of the disease (what is the definition of this disease).
    2. The cause of the disease (typically a pathogen, although you may also choose a genetic disease).
    3. The prevalence of the disease (How many people are affected by the disease).
    4. The range of the disease (How is this disease distributed worldwide).
    5. Typical symptoms
    6. The course of the disease and its prognosis. (What is the typical fate of the individual who catches this disease?)
    7. The severity of the disease (How "bad" is the disease?  Is it fatal?  How many people who catch the disease actually die of this disease, are permanently scarred, etc.?)
    8. Can the disease be transmitted?  If yes, what is the vector?  If not, why?
    9. Any other interesting facts about the disease.
  2. Graphics of basic biology of the pathogen/disease process.  Include at the following: (10 pts.)
    1. An illustration, animation or photograph of the microbiology of the pathogen and/or disease process (cause of disease; virus, bacteria, microorganism, autoimmune, etc. and how it affects the human body).
    2. An illustration, animation or photograph of the appearance of any diseased organ, tissue or body part.
  3. How the disease is diagnosed and treated including: (10 pts.)
    1. How is the disease/disorder diagnosed?
    2. Prevention of the disease- is it possible?
    3. Medical treatments including:
      1. Modern medicine or drug therapies
      2. Vaccines
      3. Cutting-edge research
  4. Fully annotated bibliography using Noodletools in APA advanced form (10 pts.) (http://noodletools.com) Using Noodletools, prepare a proper bibliography with annotations.  This bibliography can be embedded in the presentation or linked to Ms. Schade’s noodletools folder (Integumentary Disease Research AP1). You must include at least one book, one journal/magazine, and one web resource in your bibliography.
    1. For every fact, group of facts or illustrations that you find on the web, you must provide a proper citation with the web address of the site where you found that information and include in your bibliography.

Subject Guide

Kristin Brumbach

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip