This is the "Home" page of the "Roanoke/Jamestown " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Roanoke/Jamestown  

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/jamestown Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Jamestown 1607 - Michael L. Cooper
Call Number: 973.21 COO
ISBN: 9780823419487
Publication Date: 2007-03-01

Cover Art
North America in Colonial Times
Call Number: REF 970.02 COO
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Virginia - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054169
Publication Date: 2005-04-01

Cover Art
Virginia - Roberta Wiener; James R. Arnold; Wiener
Call Number: 974.402 WIE
ISBN: 1410903133
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
Virginia, 1607-1776 - Sandy Pobst; Kevin D. Roberts
Call Number: 974.6 VOI
ISBN: 9780792263883
Publication Date: 2005-11-08

Cover Art
Virginia - Karen Price Hossell
Call Number: 974.6 THI
ISBN: 1560069953
Publication Date: 2001-11-01

Cover Art
North Carolina - Roberta Wiener; James R. Arnold; Wiener
Call Number: 974.402 WIE
ISBN: 1410903095
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
North Carolina - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 974.6 DOH
ISBN: 0816054126
Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Cover Art
North Carolina, 1524-1776 - Matthew C. Cannavale; Patrick Griffin (As told to)
Call Number: 974.6 VOI
ISBN: 9781426300325
Publication Date: 2007-04-10

 

RSS Feed

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Poll

How well did your research go today?




 

Content Outline

 

It was not long before England became jealous over Spain and France’s New World claims and riches.  In an attempt to cash in on the abundant wealth of this new land, England sent over expeditions to colonize the new world.  It is your task to research these first attempts (Roanoke and Jamestown) on the following topics: ecologically, economically, disease, food, type of settlement and hypothesize why they failed.  You will need to tell me what happened to each colony, compare and contrast how they were similar and different from one another. Then do the same thing in comparison with the Spanish colonies/settlements.  Also hypothesize as to why the Spanish settlements were successful and the English first attempts were not. 

Your may present this information in any way you want—a poster, a brochure, a research paper, a power point, a diorama—or anything else you can think of and OK by me.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mr. Rothenberger

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip