This is the "Home" page of the "A Nation Grows - Thematic Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Nation Grows - Thematic Project  

1790-1860
Last Updated: Apr 27, 2017 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/nationgrowstheme Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Women in 19th-Century America - Fiona MacDonald
Call Number: 305.42 MAC
ISBN: 0872265668
Publication Date: 2001-02-23

Cover Art
Gibson Girls and Suffragists - Catherine Gourley
Call Number: 305.4 GOU
ISBN: 9780822571506
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Cover Art
A History of the American Suffragist Movement - Doris L. Weatherford
Call Number: 324.6 WEA
ISBN: 1576070654
Publication Date: 1998-06-01

Cover Art
Nat Turner - Terry Bisson; John Davenport (Text by)
Call Number: BIO TUR
ISBN: 0791081672
Publication Date: 2004-09-01

Cover Art
Slave Uprisings and Runaways - Ann E. Eskridge
Call Number: 306.362 ESK
ISBN: 0766021548
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
Fighters Against American Slavery - Stephen R. Lilley
Call Number: 326 LIL
ISBN: 1560060360
Publication Date: 1998-09-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 973.5 ENC
ISBN: 9780684805009
Publication Date: 2000-12-13

Cover Art
Adams Dictionary of American History - Michael Rheta Martin; Leonard Gelber
Call Number: REF 973.03 DIC
ISBN: 0684138565
Publication Date: 1977-02-01

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Women's Rights

A Suffrage History

A collection of information about Women's suffrage and the women's movement in general from the Susan B. Anthony Center for Women's Leadership

Not for Ourselves Alone

PBS site about two leaders in Women's Rights, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony

Rights for Women

An online exhibit from the National Women's History Museum

 

Slavery and Abolition

Africans in America

A PBS site with plentiful resources on abolition and slavery

Abolition

Library of Congress site about the Abolition movement includes primary sources, has links to other related topics too

LGC for the study of Slavery, Resistance and Abolition

Site from Yale University about the topic, including online documents and teacher resources

 

Temperance Movement

Roots of Prohibition

PBS site giving background information on the temperance movement

Anti-Saloon League

Site from SUNY Potsdam about the Anti-Saloon League

Temperance Reform

Site from the Teach US History organization on the topic, includes primary sources and guides

 

Mentally Ill

Dorothea Dix's Advocacy for The Mentally Ill

Site from the UNC library about one of the more important reformers and advocates for the mentally ill.

Dorothea Dix

A Biography of Dorothea Dix from the National Institute of Health

 

Prison Reform

Lamenting the Greater Fall

A site from the NYC public library about women in prisons from the Women's Prison Association's records

Eastern State Penitentiary

The history of a prison that was the vanguard of prison reform in the 19th century

Public Gaol

The prison in Colonial Williamsburg gives a good idea what prisons were like before reform.

 

Education

The history of education - 1800s

Gilder Lehrman site about the history of education, including the reform movement of the 1800s.

Rise of the common school

Oregon State University site about different eras in American education

Only a Teacher

PBS site about education reform including profiles on some of the key reformers

 

Presidents (Washington to Lincoln)

The Presidents

Whitehouse website provides brief biographies on the presidents

PBS - The Presidents

PBS site that also provides brief bios on the presidents

POTUS

IPL site that...you guessed it...provides brief bios on the presidents

 

Industrial Revolution

The Lowell System

Site from Annenberg Media about a type of factory system used in America during the early Industrial Revolution

The Industrial Revolution

Library of Congress primary sources and teacher's guide about the Industrial Revolution

Samuel Slater

Site on someone known as the "father of the Industrial Revolution"

 

Roads and Canals

The National Road

Site from the Federal Highway Administration about Cumberland Road, a.k.a. the National Road

Erie Canal

A hub of information on the Erie Canal

The American Canal Society

Site about canals from a society to help preserve them

 

Railroads, Steam Engines, and Communication

History of Railroads and Maps

Library of Congress site about early railroads in the US

Robert Fulton

PBS site about steamboat pioneer Robert Fulton

Sam Morse

Pioneer of the electric telegraph, from MIT's inventor of the week.

 

American Literature

Popular 19th century literature

Goodreads list of popular books from the 1800s

Early and 19th century american literature

University of Buffalo english department published overview of literature during this period

19th century american literature

Yale University Library pathfinder (!) about literature

 

Indian Removal

Indian Removal

PBS site with a general overview of indian removal

Indian Removal

Page from the encyclopedia of Oklahoma history and culture

The effects of removal on American Indian Tribes

Essay from the National Humanities Center arguing the impact of removal on Native Americans

 

Religion, Second Great Awakening, Transcendentalism

Second Great Awakening

Gilder-Lehrman Insitute of American History resources

Evangelicalism, Revivalism, and the Second Great Awakening

National Humanities Center essay about religious movements of the time period

American Trancendentalism

Essay from the Thoreau reader about trancendentalism

 

Mormons and Utopian Movements

Utopian Communities 1800-1890

Yale Teacher's institute site gives a broad overview of the various utopian communities of the time.

The Mormons

PBS history of the Mormons from a 4 hour documentary on the topic

5 Utopian Communities

History.com list of 5 communities from the time

 

Immigrants

The Irish

Thinkquest site about Irish Immigrants, also includes side links to other ethnic groups

Old Immigration Period

Test prep site with basic background information on immigration between 1776 and 1870

Immigration

Unit about immigration to the US from Yale's teacher's institute

 

Republican Party

Our History - GOP

Republican party's own website, providing a basic history of the party

Republican Party

PBS site about the formation of the Republican Party

Rise of Republican Party

Lincoln Library at NIU site about the Kansas-Nebraska Act and the Rise of the Republican Party

 

Success Poll

How well did your research go today?




 

Content Outline

A Nation Grows Part 1790-1860

Thematic Project

      You and a partner will research one of the following topics in United States history during the year 1790 to 1860.  Together you will prepare a 10 minute presentation to the class.  You have the choice of whether you want to do a video at home (or school for that matter), a PowerPoint, a presentation or any mix thereof (if you can come up with some other idea, run it by me).

 This project is meant to be informative but also fun, so feel free to be creative in getting your information across.  You will need to have your information properly organized and submit a 2 page, typed paper, with a bibliography to me.  You must use a minimum of 3 sources; one must be a book.  Each topic will have its own guideline sheet with specific required information. You will also need to prepare some sort of informative handout for the class (notes, tri-fold, fill in the blank as you present, open outline, etc.—NO WORD SEARCHES OR CROSSWORD PUZZLES!!)  When speaking about particular place, be sure to point them out on a map at some point (which could be part of the handout or visual)

 Be sure to make sure your project covers the required information and most of all, have fun with it!

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mr. Rothenberger

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip