This is the "Home" page of the "Native American Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American Project  

Last Updated: Feb 4, 2014 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/nativeamericans Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
The Aztecs - Michael E. Smith
Call Number: 972.018 SMI
ISBN: 1557864969
Publication Date: 1997-02-25

Cover Art
The Blackfeet - Frank W. Porter (Editor); Theresa Jensen Lacey
Call Number: 970.004 LAC
ISBN: 0791016811
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
The Buffalo Hunters - Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: 978 BUF
ISBN: 0809494264
Publication Date: 1993-05-01

Cover Art
Buffalo Soldiers - TaRessa Stovall
Call Number: 978.004 STO
ISBN: 0791025950
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
The Cherokee Nation and the Trail of Tears - Theda Perdue; Colin G. Calloway (Editor); Michael Green
Call Number: 975.0049 7 PER
ISBN: 9780670031504
Publication Date: 2007-07-05

Cover Art
The Cheyenne - Stanley Hoig; Frank W. Porter (Introduction by)
Call Number: 970.004 HOI
ISBN: 1555466966
Publication Date: 1989-01-01

Cover Art
The Comanche - Willard H. Rollings; Frank W. Porter (Introduction by)
Call Number: 970.004 ROL
ISBN: 1555467024
Publication Date: 1989-01-01

Cover Art
Daily Life of Native Americans from Post-Columbian Through Nineteenth-Century America - Alice Nash; Christoph Strobel
Call Number: 973.0497 NAS
ISBN: 031333515X
Publication Date: 2006-06-01

Cover Art
The Indians of California - Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: 979.4 IND
ISBN: 0809495880
Publication Date: 1994-07-01

Cover Art
The Iroquois Constitution - Lesli J. Favor
Call Number: 970.004 FAV
ISBN: 0823938034
Publication Date: 2003-07-15

Cover Art
Catlin's Letters and Notes on the North American Indians - George Catlin
Call Number: 970.004 CAT
ISBN: 1572151951
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
Into the American Woods - James H. Merrell; James Merrell
Call Number: 974.802 MER
ISBN: 0393046761
Publication Date: 1999-01-01

Cover Art
The Long Walk - Jennifer Denetdale
Call Number: 970.004 DEN
ISBN: 9780791093443
Publication Date: 2007-11-01

Cover Art
Native Americans of the Great Lakes - Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: 977.004 KAL
ISBN: 1560065680
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
Native Americans of the Northeast - Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: 970.004 KAL
ISBN: 1560066296
Publication Date: 1999-10-13

Cover Art
Native Americans of the Plains - Lucille Wood-Trost
Call Number: 970.004 WOO
ISBN: 156006627X
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
Native Americans - David H. Thomas; Lorann Pendleton
Call Number: 970.004 THO
ISBN: 0783547595
Publication Date: 1999-05-01

Cover Art
Northeast Indians - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 970.004 DOH
ISBN: 9780816059683
Publication Date: 2008-02-01

Cover Art
Plateau Indians - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty
Call Number: 970.004 DOH
ISBN: 9780816059713
Publication Date: 2008-06-01

Cover Art
The Sioux - Gwen Remington
Call Number: 970.004 REM
ISBN: 1560066156
Publication Date: 1999-08-01

Cover Art
Timelines of Native American History - Susan Hazen-Hammond
Call Number: 970.0049 HAZ
ISBN: 0399523073
Publication Date: 1997-07-01

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

American Indians

National Museum of of the American Indian

American Indian Tribes

Native American Cultures
Great general introduction to each of the regions/culture areas.

 

Native American Poll

How well did your colony research go today?




 

Native American Living Museum Exhibit

In order to understand the culture of the earliest Americans, you and your group will insert yourselves into their lifestyle:  you will be creating a living museum exhibit.  I will assign you a specific Native American tribe and it is your responsibility to create an exhibit for the rest of the class. 

  Included in your project should be the following topics:

·        Religion/belief system

·        Shelter

·        Food

·        Clothing

·        Environment (and its effects on shelter, food, and clothing)

·        Technology

·        Family set up

·        Any other interest information

Your exhibit should include pictures, an explanatory paper, a map of where your
tribe is located, and a layout of a typical village/town/city.

 Since you will now BE a member of this tribe, during your presentation you should speak as if you are a part of that tribe (therefore referring to beliefs, food, etc. as if it is part of your culture). 

I will try and provide you with any materials you should need (construction paper, big roll paper, markers, glue, colored pencils, etc.). 

When it is time for you to present to the class, it might be a good idea to have the group dress up (at least as much as possible—ask me for ideas!) or perhaps bring in
examples of food or even lead the class in a craft activity. 

Remember-these are now your people and you want to show the rest of the class just how much fun they are!

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip