This is the "Home" page of the "Persuasive Exploration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persuasive Exploration  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/persuasiveexplore Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
Vasco da Gama and the Portuguese Explorers - Rebecca Stefoff; William H. Goetzmann (Editor); Michael Collins (Introduction by)
Call Number: 910.92 STE
ISBN: 0791013030
Publication Date: 1993-01-01

Cover Art
Scientific Explorers - Rebecca Stefoff
Call Number: 509 STE
ISBN: 0195076893
Publication Date: 1993-02-18

Cover Art
Explorers and Exploration - Marshall Cavendish Corporation Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF 910.92 EXP
ISBN: 0761475354
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
The Look-It-Up Book of Explorers - Elizabeth Cody Kimmel; Bryn Barnard (Illustrator)
Call Number: 920 KIM
ISBN: 0375824782
Publication Date: 2004-07-27

Cover Art
Conquerors and Explorers - Stewart Ross; McRae Books Agency Staff (Illustrator)
Call Number: 910 ROS
ISBN: 0761305092
Publication Date: 1996-09-01

 

RSS Feed Explorers

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Explorers Poll

How well did your explorer research go today?




 

Content Outline

Your Mission:  Convince Queen Isabella (that’s me) to fund your trip to the East Indies

 

***In presenting your case, be sure to include:

   *The number of ships you will need

   *The number and occupations of the men you wish to have on your crew

   *The type and amount of provisions you will need for your journey (which means you have to estimate how long the journey will be)

   *Maps showing your route

 

 

***Make sure your argument is a persuasive one (hint:  Should probably mention bringing glory to Spain, not to mention riches)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip