This is the "Home" page of the "Sectionalism: A Nation Grows Up and Apart 1790-1880" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sectionalism: A Nation Grows Up and Apart 1790-1880  

Last Updated: Apr 21, 2015 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/sectionalism Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
100 Women Who Shaped World History - Gail M. Rolka
Call Number: 920 ROL
ISBN: 0912517069
Publication Date: 1994-04-01

Cover Art
Black Abolitionists and Freedom Fighters - Kimberly H. Taylor
Call Number: 973 TAY
ISBN: 9781881508304
Publication Date: 1996-03-01

Cover Art
Africans in America - Charles Johnson; Patricia Smith; WGBH Series Research Team Staff
Call Number: 973.049 JOH
ISBN: 0151003394
Publication Date: 1998-11-01

Cover Art
Afro-Bets Book of Black Heroes from A to Z - Wade Hudson; Valerie Wilson Wesley
Call Number: 920 HUD
ISBN: 0940975025
Publication Date: 1988-02-01

Cover Art
Prohibition - Jeff Hill
Call Number: 363.4 HIL
ISBN: 0780807685
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - Volume 2
Call Number: REF 973.5 ENC
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - Volume 3
Call Number: REF 973.5 ENC
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Dear Dorothy Dix; : the story of a compassionate woman, - Kane, Harnett Thomas., 1910-
Call Number: BIO DIX
Publication Date: 1952

Cover Art
Horace Mann and the common school revival in the United States - Hinsdale, B. A., 1837-1900.
Call Number: BIO MAN
Publication Date: 1937

Cover Art
America's Presidents - Chuck Wills
Call Number: 973.09 WIL
ISBN: 9781401603250
Publication Date: 2007-03-06
Housed Behind Circulation Desk--Ask a LMC Staff Member for Assistance!

Cover Art
The Industrial Revolution in the United States - Don Nardo
Call Number: 330.973 NAR
ISBN: 9781420501537
Publication Date: 2009-06-05

Cover Art
American Business Leaders - Neil A. Hamilton
Call Number: REF 338.092 HAM
ISBN: 1576070026
Publication Date: 1999-08-17

Cover Art
The Erie Canal: American Heritage Junior Library - Andrist, Ralph K.
Call Number: 974.7 AND
Publication Date: 1964

Cover Art
Reading Trains and Trolleys - Philip K. Smith; Historical Society of Berks County, PA, Staff
Call Number: 974.814 SMI
ISBN: 0738535141
Publication Date: 2004-03-16
Rail transportation has been part of daily life in Reading since the 1830s. Reading Trains and Trolleys portrays the good old days of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway (reorganized as the Reading Company in 1923), the Schuykill Valley Division of the Pennsylvania Railroad, the Mount Penn Gravity Railroad, the Neversink Mountain Railroad, the Reading City Passenger Railway, and the Reading Traction Company.

Cover Art
The Steam Engine - Deborah H. DeFord
Call Number: 621.1 DEF
ISBN: 0836858034
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
American Literature - Shafer, Robert
Call Number: 810.8 SHA
Publication Date: Doubleday, Doran, 1926

Cover Art
Concord rebel : a life of Henry D. Thoreau. - Derleth, August William., 1909-
Call Number: BIO THO
Publication Date: Chilton Co., Book Division, 1962

Cover Art
The Indian Removal Act - Mark Stewart; Compass Point Books Staff
Call Number: 973.04 STE
ISBN: 0756524520
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Cover Art
The Indian Wars - Don Nardo
Call Number: 970 NAR
ISBN: 9781560068914
Publication Date: 2001-06-01

Cover Art
The Mormon Experience - Leonard J. Arrington; Davis Bitton
Call Number: 289.309 ARR
ISBN: 0394465660
Publication Date: 1979-03-12

Cover Art
The Nation Comes of Age - Page Smith
Call Number: 973 SMI
ISBN: 0070590184
Publication Date: 1981-01-01

Cover Art
The Oregon Trail - David Dary
Call Number: 978.02 DAR
ISBN: 0375413995
Publication Date: 2004-11-09

Cover Art
The California Gold Rush - Liz Sonneborn
Call Number: 978 SON
ISBN: 1604130512
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
In 1848, a carpenter found gold in a river in California. The news spread quickly, and soon prospectors from across the country were arriving to pursue their fortunes. This mass migration, known as the Gold Rush, reshaped the United States by drastically accelerating the immigration to the far West.

Cover Art
The Democratic Party - Dale Anderson; Compass Point Books Staff
Call Number: 324.2736 AND
ISBN: 0756524504
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Cover Art
Nothing Like It in the World - Stephen E. Ambrose
Call Number: 385 AMB
ISBN: 0743203178
Publication Date: 2001-11-06
It is the story of the men who built the transcontinental railroad -- the investors who risked their businesses and money; the enlightened politicians who understood its importance; the engineers and surveyors who risked, and sometimes lost, their lives; and the Irish and Chinese immigrants, the defeated Confederate soldiers, and the other laborers who did the backbreaking and dangerous work on the tracks.

Cover Art
America and the Gilded Age, 1876-1900 - Fon Wyman Boardman
Call Number: 973.8 BOA
ISBN: 0809830981
Publication Date: 1972-01-01

 

RSS Feed Explorers

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Women's Rights

TOPIC 1:  WOMEN’S RIGHTS (before and after the Civil War)

The Problem:

  •  Identify problems women faced in this time period.  What rights did they have?  What rights did they lack compared to men?  Describe the public movements they were involved in.

The Solution:

  •  Identify and describe important people who fought for women’s rights.

            a. Background of each person

            b. What did they do to help women?

  • Explain the results and changes by beginning of Civil War, 1860.

People: Lucretia Mott, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony

Topics: Seneca Falls Convention, suffrage

Recommended Websites:

Slavery, Abolition, and Freedmen

TOPIC 2:  SLAVERY, ABOLITION, and FREEDMEN

Before Civil War

  • Describe life for slaves in the early 1800’s. Identify where slaves were used the most, and its economic importance.
  • Define abolition, and identify and describe important people in the abolition movement.  Describe the changes brought about by 1870.

            a. Background of each person

            b. What did they do to help slaves and fight slavery?

After Civil War

  •  Explain how the 13th, 14th, and 15th amendments gave blacks rights
  • Explain the new problems faced by former slaves, now freedmen, after the Civil War; What new problems did the face?  Evaluate in what ways were their lives better or worse after emancipation.

 People: William Lloyd Garrison, Frederick Douglass, Sojourner Truth, Harriet Tubman. 

Additional topics to cover: Emancipation Proclamation; 13th, 14th, and 15th amendments; Freedmen’s Bureau, Ku Klux Klan

Recommended Websites:

Temperance Movement

TOPIC 3: TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT

The Problem:

  • Define temperance movement.
  • Describe amount of alcohol use by Americans in the early 1800’s, and the problems caused by abuse of alcohol.

The Solution:

  • Identify and describe important people that worked in the temperance movement.

            a. Background of each person

            b. What did they do to reform society?

  • Explain any results by 1860.

People: Who was likely to be involved in the temperance movement?  Men or women?  Why?       

Recommended Websites:

Mentally Ill

TOPIC 4: MENTALLY ILL

The Problem:

  • Describe those that were labeled mentally ill in the early 1800’s.
  • Identify and describe institutions that kept mentally ill people.  What were their conditions and how were they treated?

The Solution:

  • Identify and describe important people that worked to help the mentally ill.

            a. Background of each person

            b. What did they do to improve the care of mentally ill people.

  • Explain any results by 1860.

 People: Dorothea Dix.  

Recommended Wesites:

Prison Reform

TOPIC 5: PRISON REFORM

The Problem:

  • Describe those likely to be in prison in the early 1800’s.  Why were they in jail?
  • Identify and describe prisons and prison conditions in the early 1800’s. What were the problems?

The Solution:

  • Identify and describe important people that worked for prison reform.

            a. Background of each person

            b. What did they do to change prisons and how prisoners were treated?

  • Explain any results by 1860.

 People: Dorothea Dix, Abigail Hopper Gibbons, Enoch Cobb Wines. 

Other terms: Penitentiary system, Pennsylvania System, Reformatory Prison for Women, Prison Association of New York.

Recommended Websites:

Education

TOPIC 6: EDUCATION

  • Explain why education became more important in this time period.
  • Identifiy and describe important people that worked in educational change.

            a. Background of each person.

            b. What did they do to improve education?

  • What schools were started? Who benefited? Did Blacks or women benefit?
  • Describe changes by 1870.

 People: Noah Webster, Horace Mann, John Russwurm

Recommended Websites:

Presidents (Washington to Lincoln)

TOPIC 7: PRESIDENTS (Washington to Lincoln)

  • Present a survey of the first sixteen presidents. 
  • For each, you should teach the years they were president, their political party, and briefly discuss their greatest or most unique contributions as president.  (note: Some presidents did more than others, and so your information will not be uniform in length.)

People:  1st 16 presidents

Recommended Websites:

Industrial Revolution/ Industry Comes of Age

TOPIC 8: INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION

  • Define the topic.  Remember to stay with U.S. history.
  • Describe the advancements, inventions and factories of the period.  Where are they and who works there?
  • Identify and describe important people involved in the Industrial Revolution.
  • Describe how the Industrial Revolution changed American society (positive and negative); identify WHERE these changes took place.  Include information about sources of labor (who worked in factories), labor organizations, and new women workers.

 People: Samuel Slater, Francis Lowell, Elias Howe, and others

Recommended Websites:

Roads and Canals

TOPIC 9: ROADS AND CANALS

  • Describe the conditions of roads and transportation in the early 1800s (hint: they are NOT good!)
  • Identify important improvements in road and canals during this period.  You must include information about:

a.  How they were built; engineering details

b.  Where they were built; how much they cost

  • Explain who used roads and canals, and why they were so important in 19th century America.

 Terms: Cumberland Road (National Road); Union Canal, Erie Canal, etc

People: McAdams, Charles Dickens came to America and wrote about how bad our roads were—this is online.

Other Resources: See Canal Museum at Gruber’s Wagon Works out at Grings Mill.  Its free!

Recommended Websites:

Railroads, Steam Engines, and Communication

TOPIC 10: RAILROADS, STEAM ENGINES, AND COMMUNICATION

  • Describe transportation conditions in the early 1800s. (hint: they are NOT good!)
  • Explain how and where railroads were built, what they were used for, and how they changed life in America.  (Discuss important facts before, during, and after the Civil War)
  • Explain advancements in communication during this period, how they were made, why, and who used them.

 People: Robert Fulton, Peter Cooper, F.B. Morse; many others

Terms: Pony Express, telegraphs, Morse Code

Recommended Websites:

American Literature

TOPIC 11: AMERICAN LITERATURE

  • Describe American literature of the this time period.  What themes did they write about?  What were they interested in? 
  • Identify and describe several (at least four) American writers of this time period.
  • Use short excerpts and quotes from a few of your examples.
  • Summarize their overall contribution to American society during this time.

People:  Washington Irving, James Fennimore Cooper, Herman Melville, Edgar Allen Poe, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry David Thoreau, Mark Twain…

Recommended Websites:

Indian Removal/ Indian Wars

TOPIC 12: INDIAN REMOVAL / INDIAN WARS

  • Describe how Native Americans were pushed westward before and after the Civil War

a.  BEFORE CIVIL WAR - Describe the Indian Removal of the 1830s; why were they moved?  What strategies did Indians use to try and keep their land and independence?

b.  AFTER CIVIL WAR:  How did Indians resist American conquest? Identify and describe the most important Indian wars that occurred after the Civil War.  What was the final condition of Indians in America?

People: President Andrew Jackson, Cherokee Nation; Trail of Tears, Indian Removal Act, Tecumseh, George Catlin; dependence on buffalo, reservations, Red Cloud, Crazy Horse, Battle of Little Big Horn, Sitting Bull, George Custer, Germonimo, Buffalo Bill

Recommended Websites:

Religion; Second Great Awakening/ Transcendentalism

 TOPIC 13: RELIGION; SECOND GREAT AWAKENING / TRANSCENDENTALISM

  • Define and describe religious movements of the antebellum period, especially the Second Great Awakening.  What were their concerns?  Where did this take place and why?
  • Describe major events associated with these movements, and the impact it had on America life and thinking.  How did Christian converts, especially women, get involved in improving American society?

 People: Charles Finney, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry David Thoreau

Terms: Second Great Awakening, tent meetings, itinerant preachers, the Burned Over District, Adventists; transcendentalism

Recommended Websites:

Mormons and Utopian Movements

TOPIC 14: MORMONS AND UTOPIAN MOVEMENTS

  • Describe and explain Utopian Movements of the antebellum period.  Why did they form?  What were their ideas of the perfect community?
  • Define and describe the origins and events associated with the Mormons.  Identify important people; how were they treated by other Americans; where did they move to and why?

 People: Shakers, Rappites, New Harmony, Robert Owen, Fruitlands; Mormons, Joseph Smith, Brigham Young, Utah

Recommended Websites:

Immigrants Before and After The Civil War

TOPIC 15: IMMIGRANTS BEFORE AND AFTER THE CIVIL WAR

  • Describe the largest groups of immigrants coming to American from 1800-1860.  What pushed them out of their homeland?  What pulled them to America?  Where did they go, what kinds of jobs did they get, and how were they treated by Americans?
  • Describe the largest groups of immigrants coming to American from 1860-1880.  What pushed them out of their homeland?  What pulled them to America?  Where did they go, what kinds of jobs did they get, and how were they treated by Americans?  Include how immigrants joined in the Civil War.

 People and Terms: “push-pull factors,” Alien and Sedition Act, Irish Potato Famine, Irish canal workers and miners; nativists and nativism, anti-Catholics; Chinese Exclusion Act

Recommended Websites:

Oregon Trail/ California Gold Rush

Politics in the Gilded Age

Reconstruction, Freedmen, and Southern Reaction

 

American Journey Poll

How well did your American Journey research go today?




 

Research and General Speech Requirements

Directions: You and a partner will research ONE of the above topics in United States history during years 1790 to 1880.  Together you will prepare and present a four-minute speech with note cards and one power point presentation.                 

General Speech Requirements

  1. Minimum 4-minute speech; 2 minutes per person
  2. Must use notecards with appropriate note card format
  3. Information must be organized appropriately--refer to your topic sheet
  4. One power point presentation--see rubric

Research Requirements  

  1. Minimum 4 sources.  You must use:
    1. Textbook
    2. One Encyclopedia
    3. A library book
    4. One other source
  2. Bibliography must be additional slide on power point.
  3. Each topic will have its own guideline sheet with SPECIFIC REQUIRED INFORMATION.  Of course you may present more information than required.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

JSTOR Access

 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Temperace Movement Illustrations

Temperance illustration of drunkard hitting his wife

Image courtesy of Library of Congress

 

Railroads

Promontory, Utah

Imgae Courtesy of Library of Congress

 

Communication- The Telegraph

Image Courtesy of Library of Congress

 

Oregon Trail

Image courtesy of National Oregon/ California Trail Center

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip