This is the "Home" page of the "American Revolution Biographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Revolution Biographies  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/twitterbio Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CW LMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
1776 - David McCullough
Call Number: 973.3 MCC
ISBN: 9780743226721
Publication Date: 2006-07-04
America’s beloved and distinguished historian presents, in a book of breathtaking excitement, drama, and narrative force, the stirring story of the year of our nation’s birth, 1776, interweaving, on both sides of the Atlantic, the actions and decisions that led Great Britain to undertake a war against her rebellious colonial subjects and that placed America’s survival in the hands of George Washington.

Cover Art
Extraordinary Black Americans from Colonial to Contemporary Times - Susan Altman
Call Number: 920 ALT
ISBN: 0516005812
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Famous and not-so-famous women and men are recognized for their achievements in education, politics, science, medicine, exploration, music, literature, and sports. Major historical events are also covered as young readers see how these events have helped shape society as we know it today.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Biography - John A. Garraty; Jerome L. Sternstein
Call Number: REF 920.073 GAR
ISBN: 9780062700179
Publication Date: 1996-10-03
Profiles of more than one thousand Americans, from the earliest explorers to contemporary newsmakers, contains facts, dates, and events related to their careers, as well as a scholarly essay about that person's life. 20,000 first printing.

Cover Art
The War for Independence - Albert Marrin
Call Number: 973.3 MAR
ISBN: 068931390X
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
A detailed account of the Revolutionary War beginning with its origins in the French and Indian War.

 

Digital Public Library

 

Instagrok

Research any topic with an interactive concept map

 

Trial Academic e-books

Ebsco username: weiserhs    password: scouts
     

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Primary Source on Colonial Economies

How to Write a Colonial Letter

Use this link to a "How-To" Guide
on Eighteenth-Century Letter Writing

History.org

 

Biography Poll

How well did your American Revolution biography research go today?




 

Twitter Biography

 You will be embarking on a biography assignment about an important person of note from the French and Indian War or the American Revolution.  The uniqueness of the assignment is that you are required to create a fictitious Twitter account for your person.  All Twitter posts will be completed in the discussion portion of our Schoology course for this unit.  You must do this in 140 characters or less.

 

Post 1 – Statement of Philosophy and Profile Picture.  Explain why you are a Patriot * Loyalist * Neutralist

 

Post 2 - Who will you follow on Twitter.  Consider your formal and informal network.  People/Places/Organizations

 

Post 3 – Tweet about your reaction to a high profile event discussed in class.  What would your historical figure “tweet” after this event?

 

Post 4 - Tweet about your reaction to an event of your own choice (outside of class discussion).  What would your historical figure “tweet” after this event?

 

Post 5 – Tweet with your epitaph (a phrase or statement written in memory of a person who has died, especially as an inscription on a tombstone. Oxford Dictionaries)

 

See the grading rubric in Schoology to see how you will be graded.  In addition to the above five posts you are also expected to:

·         Respond to 5 classmates posts

·         Add additional 3 posts to your own original post as you gain new insights and make new connections to the people and events of the American Revolution


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip