This is the "Home" page of the "World War II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War II  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2015 URL: http://conradweiser.libguides.com/ww2 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CWLMC OPAC

Search the LMC
 

Books in the CWLMC

Cover Art
The D-Day Companion - Jane Penrose (Editor)
Call Number: 940.54 DDA
ISBN: 1841767794
Publication Date: 2004-04-26
With a foreword by Major Richard Winters, Easy Company, 506th PIR, 101st Airborne, and published to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Normandy landings, this book brings together the perspectives and opinions of some of the most respected military historians working today. More than a dozen leading historians from either side of the Atlantic have collaborated to produce a unique and incisive examination of the momentous events that surrounded June 6, 1944.

Cover Art
The Army Times Book of Great Land Battles - J. D. Morelock; Walter J. Boyne (Editor)
Call Number: 904 MOR
ISBN: 0425143716
Publication Date: 1994-10-01

Cover Art
The Decade of Triumph - Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: REF 973.9 OUR
ISBN: 0783555067
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
A series of books chronicling our lives in powerful time capsules, from the dawn of the century -- when horses outnumbered cars 21 million to 8,000 -- to its close.

Cover Art
Flags of Our Fathers - James Bradley; Ron Powers
Call Number: 940.54 BRA
ISBN: 0553384155
Publication Date: 2006-08-29
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER THE TRUE STORY BEHIND THE IMMORTAL PHOTOGRAPH THAT HAS COME TO SYMBOLIZE THE COURAGE AND INDOMITABLE WILL OF AMERICA In February 1945, American Marines plunged into the surf at Iwo Jima--and into history. Through a hail of machine-gun and mortar fire that left the beaches strewn with comrades, they battled to the island's highest peak. And after climbing through a landscape of hell itself, they raised a flag.

Cover Art
The Airmen - Edwin P. Hoyt
Call Number: 940.54 HOY
ISBN: 0070306338
Publication Date: 1990-03-01
The first oral history to tell the story of World War II through the eyes of the fliers who actuallly fought it--in Europe, Asia, the Pacific, and defending America's Atlantic coast. The result is a controversial, stirring narrative. 16 pages of black-and-white photographs.

Cover Art
Miracle at Midway - Charles Mercer
Call Number: 940.54 MER
ISBN: 0399206124
Publication Date: 1977-11-01

Cover Art
America in the Twentieth Century - 1940-49
Call Number: REF 973.9 REF
ISBN: 0761473645
Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
The American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress provides access to images, audio files, videos, maps and sheet music that demonstrate the American experience.

Smithsonian Museums
The Smithsonian Museum, founded in 1846, consists of 19 museums and galleries, a zoo, and research facilities. The museum and gallery websites feature digital collections and information on physical collections covering art, science and history.

Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
This digital repository features local and state history from schools, colleges and universities, libraries and museums.

Smithsonian Collection
Search over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Avalon Project
Historical documents from ancient to modern times

Historical Newspapers
Databases and online sources for finding historical newspapers - This is pathfinder from Bowling Green U - you only have access to free websites.

Documents for the study of American History

National Archives

 

Battle of Salerno

 

Battle of Aachen

 

Battle of the Coral Sea

 

Success Poll

How well did your research go today?




 

World War II News Report

World War 2 was a difficult time in World History.  The allies fought against the oppression of Fascism.  Your task is to pretend you are news reporters who were at a battle during the World War 2 and create a news report that tells others about your battle.  Your news report should be based on facts from researching your battle, and you should pretend that you are living in that time. You will be in groups of two.

You will do research, and write a script. The finished product will be 2 - 4 minute news report. In addition to your news report, you will be using the map on the bulletin board in order to describe where your battle was, what kind of battle it was (sea, air, land or a combination of the three).

Here is the information you need to include in your news report about your battle:

  • answers to the 5 "W" questions (who, what, why, when, where)

  • a description of the action, including whether it was primarily fought on land, sea, or air (or a combination of both)

  • key participants from the Allies and Axis side (Countries, groups, individuals)

  • date and specific location of the battle

  • which side won the battle (or explain if it was a tie)

  • Who you are, and a name for your news report

  • A separate MLA bibliography with ANNOTATIONS

     

    This project is worth 30 points   This project is due on Wednesday, November 11th

     

    Daily Schedule:

    11/4 – Introduce project, do research

    11/5 –  Continue research.

    11/6 – Chunking check for a finished research notes (5 pts), create bibliography with annotations.

    11/9 – Create script and practice with group.

    11/10 - Make trifold, create script, practice

    11/11 - Project Due. Turn in your scripts and bibliography as well. Listen to all student news reports.

    Rubric

    Historical Information                                                      20 points

    Did you answer all the questions?   

    Is the information accurate?

     

    Presentation                                                                    5 points

    Do you speak loud, clear, and easy to understand?

    Does your final product seem like a newscast?

    Do you use your tri-fold during your presentation?

    Trifold                                                                                 10 points

    Name of your battle

    Map with your battle marked on it

    Outcome of your battler, who fought in it

    Key statistics

    Pictures

    Bibliography                                                                    5 points

    Are all of your sources cited and annotated?

    Are the sources in MLA format?

     

    TOTAL POINTS                                                             40 points

     

     

    Remember, have fun with creating your news report and enjoy the process of learning

     

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Schmidt

Primary vs Secondary Source video

You will be taken to the Safari Montage site where you will need to utilize your
username and password used to login on CWHS computers

CWLMC Databases and other links

 

Gale Student Resources

 

JSTOR Access

 

EBSCO

 

Safari Montage

Click here for videos

Use your CW login and password

Conrad Weiser LMC site

 

Power Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip